RSS Feed

Oil cloth bag numero uno!

My first and hopefully not last creation!

I visited the ‘The Make Lounge’, in Islington this morning to attend the ‘zipper clinic’.

So yeh, the workshop details stipulated that it was NOT a beginners class and  you should know how to thread up a sewing machine and sew a straight stich. But my sewing machine was made in the 1950’s! Eep!

Like someone who had suddenly forgotton how to ride a bike, I stumbled through the workshop relying on a) my not so sneaky ability to eye up my neighbours efforts and b) ask the teacher Lauren to show me again, one to one.

Mind you, there’s always someone worse off than you. In this case, another lady brazenly admitted that she’d only ever used a sewing machine once! Pah!

So if you zoom in on the photo, you’ll see my line of stitching on top isn’t so straight. But hey – not bad for my first attempt!

Leave a Reply

